Lifeline

I am sitting in a room, the blinds are drawn. I can’t look outside. I know what is outside: 37° Celsius, a glaring sun, high humidity. Like a vampire I wait for the sun to set.

I am a two-hour commuter train ride outside of Tokyo. A collection of houses arranged around a grid of streets, a station in the center. A small town.

Where to go?  The Internet, of course. A small device connects me. The Internet tells me that outside it “feels” like 47° Celsius. Did someone vote on this? Apparently not. An algorithm condenses various parameters into a single number.

A good day to sit in the cool stream of air-conditioned comfort, read emails, roam train schedules and check on the world. Occasionally I check on the fridge too.

Leave a Reply

