Memories: Iron Courtesy

I remember crossing the border in the middle of the night at Narva. The border post felt like out of a cold war novel: Barbed wire, dogs, sub machine guns and guards, uniformed in heavy coats, with frozen faces. We followed the only road, drove a couple of extra miles by avoiding the potholes. Then the road widened, added a few lanes and was whole again. In front of us floated St. Petersburg between a vast sky and the sea.

Image

I remember the bridges …

Image

… the streets …

Image

… and the waterfront.

Image

I remember the churches. Some with simple crosses …

R-00-23

… some with more complex ones.

R-00-57

I remember a feeling of vastness, knowing that I walked in the biggest country on Earth.

R-00-84

I remember going to the museum …

R-00-39

… strolling through an endless succession of halls …

R-00-46

… passing through doors …

R-00-51

… into one hall …

R-00-50

… after the other …

R-00-52

… filled with splendor.

R-00-36

I remember the graves, …

R-00-59

… a flame burning.

R-00-81

I remember a more rugged side …

R-00-87

… dark and cracked.

R-00-88

I remember people dealing with the rain, …

R-00-86

… putting on a fresh coat of paint, …

R-00-92

… celebrating, …

R-00-83

… and dreaming.

R-00-93

Leave a Reply

