Whiteout

I have holed up behind my laptop for a couple of weeks now. Every day I take a break for a walk, to battle the local house wives for cheap and good groceries. The weather was in my favour, … until today: Winter ambushes Tokyo. When I walk out of the front door the cold hits me, snow flakes swirl around me, but I count myself lucky: I have boots.

Image

On my way I grasp the concept of transparent umbrellas.

Image

Sometimes it feels Scandinavian rather than Japanese.

Image

The narrow streets in my neighborhood have no sidewalks and I wonder how well prepared the local drivers are for this kind of weather.

J-14-330

I reach the main shopping street and join the procession …

J-14-339

… of one umbrella …

J-14-343

… after the other.

J-14-342

I get what I need and head back.

J-14-334

I meet cyclist who rise to the occasion …

J-14-344

… others reconsider.

J-14-345

Close to my place a girl dances in the street.

J-14-346

It still snows while I write this words. A week ago it was 18° C. The weather forecast for tomorrow says 7-10° C.

Leave a Reply

